Attend the 2013 Local Author Fair

LAF featuredOur library will host a Local Author Fair on Sunday, December 8 from 3 to 5pm in the Marvin Auditorium and Library Rotunda. We are pleased to offer this opportunity to support local authors, and to provide a venue where you, our local readers, can connect with them.

Whether you’re an avid reader or an aspiring writer, the Local Author Fair is your chance to get to know local writers and their work.

Join us before the fair for our Novice Writers Forum, where you can learn what happens after The End. Local authors Thomas Fox Averill, Eric McHenry, Denise Low, and Dennis Etzel, Jr. walk you through the process of publishing and marketing your book. Bring your questions for our panel. Registration is required for this special session, held from 1:30 to 2:30pm in the Lingo Story Room. Call 580-4540 to sign up.

Writers representing poetry, fiction, nonfiction, and children’s books will be available, and each author table will feature copies of selected works available for purchase and signing. Add signed work to your collection or pick out fantastic holiday gifts for friends and family. Free gift wrapping will be available, and donations to benefit the Friends of the Library are welcome.

Check out original interviews with Topeka authors Thomas Fox Averill, Leah Sewell, Israel Wasserstein, and Eric McHenry on our books blog.

All of the authors listed below will be available to meet readers, and will have work available for purchase and signing. Save the date, tell everyone you know, and join us for our first Local Author Fair!

Jan Allison

Fred C. Appelhanz

Randy  Attwood

Tom Averill

Edna Bell-Pearson

Ken Berry

Alice Bertels

Roy Bird

Mark  Bouton

Jennifer Marie Brayton

Melvin D. Bruntzel

Beverley Olson Buller

Cathy  Callen

Xanath  Caraza

Romualdo R. Chavez

Gary K. Clarke

Sylvia S. Colombo

Beth Cooper

Sharon  Cranford

Gloria  Creed-Dikeogu

Jeremy Deckard

Dennis  Etzel

Bob  Faught

George Feliz

Nancy Sprowell Geise

Marcene Grimes

Oliver  Hall

Gladys Hargis

Imam Omar Hazim

Latifa  Hazim-Rogers

Jack Heller

Reaona Hemmingway

Jerilyn  Henrickson

Duane L. Herrmann

Sharon Highberger

June  Hilbert

Kenneth Kappelman

Agnes Kazminski

Janet Knedler

Gary  Krohe

Gary  Lechliter

Norm Ledgin

Katherine Linquist

Eleanor  Liu

Allyn O.  Lockner

Denise  Low

Carol Luttjohann

Tom Mach

Eric McHenry

Todd Mildfelt

Rhonda Miller

Sandra Moran

Richard J Noland

Kenneth R. Ohm

Matt Porubsky

Tad Pritchett

Phil Quinn

Cathy  Ramirez

Lora K. Reiter

Marcia Riley

Mark  Scheel

Leah Sewell

Charles A Silvestri

Dennis E. Smirl

Pam  Tamborino

Julie  Unruh

Israel Wasserstein

Kevin Wilson

Mary Ann Wittman

Max Yoho

Gloria Zachgo



Miranda Ericsson

Miranda loves to talk lit! Her favorite reads are poetry, literary fiction, and speculative science fiction, and she's passionate about promoting great literature written by Kansas authors. She works with library programs that support and engage writers in our community, so ask her for more information about the Local Writers Workshop, Great Writers Right Here author fair, and Community Novel Project. Miranda is also a member of the library's Genealogy Team and Fiction Team, facilitates TALK book discussions, and co-leads the Bean There, Read That book discussion group.