Time for a Thrill!

The thrills!  The chills!  Our fiction selector (or book pusher, as we fondly think of her) is super-excited over the nominees for the CWA 2013 Gold Dagger Award.  The prestigious Daggers are awarded annually by the Crime Writer’s Association with the Gold Dagger Award representing any novel that is felt to represent the best of the crime writing genre.

Some of the shortlisted authors are:
Lauren Beukes for The Shining Girls (HarperCollins)
Mick Herron for Dead Lions (Soho Crime)
Becky Masterman for Rage Against the Dying (Orion)
Sara Paretsky for Breakdown (Hodder & Stoughton)
Michael Robotham for Say You’re Sorry (Sphere)
Don Winslow for The Kings of Cool (Heinemann)

I’ve read both Rage Against the Dying (and loved the heroine – a sixtyish ex-FBI agent who gives new meaning to “little old lady”) and Say You’re Sorry (a deliciously creepy thriller about two missing girls with a great twist at the end).  You can read more about these titles and the other nominees on the CWA’s website.  The winner will be announced in the fall so there’s still plenty of time to read all the nominees and decide who you think should win.  You wanted to have an exciting summer, right?

Julie Nelson

Constant reader, book selector, shameless promoter of good reads - these are just a few of the things I do as a Collection Development Professional. I love sharing the hidden gems in our nonfiction collection!