Love is in the air

Fiction Five Header Feb 2017

It’s February, and you know what that means. Whether or not you hop aboard the Valentine’s bandwagon, nothing beats a great romance novel. Check out these 5 picks for new romance that will have you swooning in no time.

1. Sweet Lake by Christine Nolfi

sweet lake nolfi

Linnie Wayfair knows just how many people are counting on her. But knowing doesn’t make doing any easier. Everyone in Sweet Lake, Ohio, wants her to muster all her business sense and return the Wayfair Inn to its former glory. Perfect for fans of Debbie Macomber or Nora Roberts’ romances.

Reserve

2. Some Kind of Magic by Mary Ann Marlowe

some magic marloweA light and fluffy love-potion romance, which pairs up the lead singer for a rock band with a biochemist who’s also an amateur singer/songwriter.

Reserve

3. The Young Wives Club by Julie Pennell

young wives clubIn Toulouse, Louisiana finding your one true love happens sometime around high school. If you’re lucky, he might be the man you thought he was. But as four friends are about to find out, not every girl has luck on her side in this charming debut novel perfect for fans of The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood and Desperate Housewives.

Reserve

4. On Turpentine Lane by Elinor Lipman

on turpentine
Elinor Lipman may well have invented the screwball romantic comedy for our era, and here she is at her sharpest and best. On Turpentine Lane is funny, poignant and a little bit outrageous.

Reserve

5. On Second Thought by Kristan Higgins

second thoughtDespite the lifetime of history between them, two sisters must learn to put their differences aside and open their hearts to the inevitable imperfection of family and the possibility of one day finding love again.

Reserve

 

See more of Jennifer’s fiction suggestions

Jennifer Jones

I’m the library’s fiction selector and I’ve been suggesting new books to library and bookmobile customers for over 17 years. I keep up on all the new book reviews, and my favorite question is “What are you reading?” I love to talk about books and to read books. I like to tell library customers, “Try something new. If you don’t like it, at least the price is right!”