Teens

Recent Posts

teen books

Babies Don’t Spoil the Romance

Teen romance novels aren’t a place where you might expect to find many characters who are still in their infancy. Sure, sometimes the guys or gals don’t act all that mature, but actual babies are few and far between. Here are some books that break the mold.

0 comments
Performers Place Blog

All New Performers’ Place

Looking for a place to showcase your talent and practice your performing skills, look no further. If you are between the ages of 12 and 18 the teen Performers’ Place is for you.  Each month the library will spotlight a different type of performance. Find one, or more, that you like and bring your best. Registration […]

0 comments
SAT vs ACT?

ACT vs. SAT

What Test is right for me? Here is a breakdown of the differences between the ACT and The SAT college entrance exams

0 comments
YIC featured image

Win Sweet Prizes in the Youth Indexing Competition

Topeka teens ages 14-18 can become historians and win awesome prizes by competing in our Youth Indexing Competition. The grand prize winner receives a Surface Tablet. Read on for the details.

0 comments
faking perfect

Everyone is Faking Perfect

Why is the pressure so intense in high school to be perfect? And what if the best you can do is to fake it? SPOILER ALERT: faking perfect isn’t a theme that is limited to high school romance novels and you can’t keep faking perfect forever!

0 comments

Back to School Blast

Start your school year in style at the library’s Back to School Blast Friday, August 7 from 2-3 p.m.

0 comments
TheCoziesMarquee

Meet The Cozies!

Get to know a little bit more about The Cozies before they perform live Fri. July 24, 7 p.m.

0 comments
89walls

’89 Walls: Politics get Personal

In a provocative teen romance set in 1989, the politics get personal when a cynical, liberal high school senior who supports his dying mother with his minimum wage job falls hard for a girl who has believed everything her wealthy, conservative father has taught her about the world.

0 comments
Hunger Games Recommended

Fantasy/Sci Fi Read-alikes for Summer

YA fantasy/science fiction books that will take you to far away places this summer.

0 comments
YA if you liked,,,

Great John Green Read-alikes

A list of read alikes for lovers of “The Fault in our Stars”, “Looking for Alaska” and all of John Green’s works.

0 comments
avengers

Summer of Superheroes

Prepare for new releases with old favorites.

0 comments
Renaissance Faire

Renaissance Fair Reads

From Renaissance Fairs to amusement parks, these teens are leaving their everyday life for a summer adventure. Summer Job or Summer Fling? These great summer escapes have it all!

0 comments

View more…