Books, Movies & Music

Find out what’s popular, read staff reviews, or find hidden gems in the world of books, movies and music.

Staff Picks: Escape the Ordinary This Summer

Open “Comfortable country” in catalog Comfortable country Open “Design rules : the insider's guide to becoming you…” in catalog Design rules : the insider's guide to becoming you… Open “Happy home : everyday magic for a colorful life” in catalog Happy home : everyday magic for a colorful life Open “Home sense : simple solutions to enhance where and…” in catalog Home sense : simple solutions to enhance where and… Open “House beautiful quick changes : fresh looks for ev…” in catalog House beautiful quick changes : fresh looks for ev… Open “House beautiful the apartment book : smart decorat…” in catalog House beautiful the apartment book : smart decorat…
View more…

Recent Posts

Subscribe

Lost in the Stacks web marquee

In the path of a killer tornado

Small children cried and teachers prayed as the black monster came ever closer.

0 comments
reading inspired by local events july

Reading Inspired by Local Events: Lincoln, Wizard of Oz, and Sports Galore

The many fun events going on in Topeka this summer are helping me to fill up my summer reading list. By reading these books I’ll have extra fun at these events and I’ll be on my way to making mysummerfest reading goals!

0 comments
Untitled

Classic Movies for Midsummer

Beat the midsummer heat by watching one of the library’s wonderful selection of Classic Movies and Television shows. Here’s some recently added titles: ADVENTURE • Act Of Vengeance • Die Hard 2 • Green Street Hooligans • Mr. & Mrs. Smith • On Wings Of Eagles • Osterman Weekend • Torpedo Run • Transformers DRAMA […]

0 comments
featuredimageiiym

Young pianists to perform at the library

Plan to marvel the expertise of young pianists from around the world at the International Institute for Young Musicians recital on July 16 at 7:30 p.m. here at the library.

0 comments
Kij Johnson featured image

Otherworldly Fiction: Kij Johnson

Kij Johnson has won Hugo, Nebula, and World Fantasy Awards for her otherworldly fiction, and she happens to live right next door–in Lawrence, Kansas. Read on for an original interview with this fantastic writer.

0 comments
Ruined Abbey

Time does not heal all wounds in The Ruined Abbey

Father Brennan Burke received a shocking phone call from London: his sister has been arrested and is accused of being a member of the Irish Republican Army. Brennan leaves his New York Parish to go and help his sister, but after his arrival the trouble…

0 comments
Fiction-Five-Header-Books

New books in July & a library life hack

Books in July that are going to be BIG. Plus, how to get your hands on new books ASAP.

2n comments
spirit of kansas reading

Reading Inspired by Local Events: Happy Fourth of July!

Whether you are going to the Spirit of Kansas festival at Lake Shawnee or to one of the many other area celebrations of Independence Day, this holiday is a great time to pick up a book and learn more about the founding of our country

0 comments
Hunger Games Recommended

Fantasy/Sci Fi Read-alikes for Summer

YA fantasy/science fiction books that will take you to far away places this summer.

0 comments
uprootedff

Magic and legends in Uprooted

The woods that grow in the Valley are corrupted with evil and creatures that snatch people and drag them back into the woods. Anyone taken to the woods is usually lost forever. The people who live in the Valley are slowly losing the battle with the woods…

0 comments
christopher lee3

Christopher Lee, 1922-2015

Actor Christopher Lee has delighted movie fans during his 70+ year career. Revisit the life and career of this extraordinary actor.

0 comments
Bean There Read That July

Bean There, Read That: The Dead Fathers Club

Pick up a copy of The Dead Fathers Club by Matt Haig for the Tuesday July 28, 2015 7-8:30PM Bean There, Read That book discussion at The Classic Bean (21st and Fairlawn) for folks in their 20s and 30s! A ghost story with a twist-a suspenseful and poignantly funny update of Hamlet A triumph of originality and humor, this clever novel by […]

0 comments

View more…