Books, Movies & Music

Find out what’s popular, read staff reviews, or find hidden gems in the world of books, movies and music.

Staff Picks: Escape the Ordinary This Summer

Open “Around the Southern table : coming home to comfort…” in catalog Around the Southern table : coming home to comfort… Open “The berry bible : with 175 recipes using cultivate…” in catalog The berry bible : with 175 recipes using cultivate… Open “The big book of barbecue side dishes : over 125 re…” in catalog The big book of barbecue side dishes : over 125 re… Open “Cookies & cream : hundreds of ways to make the per…” in catalog Cookies & cream : hundreds of ways to make the per… Open “Desserts in jars : 50 sweet treats that shine” in catalog Desserts in jars : 50 sweet treats that shine Open “Entice with spice : easy Indian recipes for busy p…” in catalog Entice with spice : easy Indian recipes for busy p…
View more…

Recent Posts

Subscribe

Untitled

Classic Movies for Midsummer

Beat the midsummer heat by watching one of the library’s wonderful selection of Classic Movies and Television shows. Here’s some recently added titles: ADVENTURE • Act Of Vengeance • Die Hard 2 • Green Street Hooligans • Mr. & Mrs. Smith • On Wings Of Eagles • Osterman Weekend • Torpedo Run • Transformers DRAMA […]

0 comments
featuredimageiiym

Young pianists to perform at the library

Plan to marvel the expertise of young pianists from around the world at the International Institute for Young Musicians recital on July 16 at 7:30 p.m. here at the library.

0 comments
Kij Johnson featured image

Otherworldly Fiction: Kij Johnson

Kij Johnson has won Hugo, Nebula, and World Fantasy Awards for her otherworldly fiction, and she happens to live right next door–in Lawrence, Kansas. Read on for an original interview with this fantastic writer.

0 comments
Ruined Abbey

Time does not heal all wounds in The Ruined Abbey

Father Brennan Burke received a shocking phone call from London: his sister has been arrested and is accused of being a member of the Irish Republican Army. Brennan leaves his New York Parish to go and help his sister, but after his arrival the trouble…

0 comments
Fiction-Five-Header-Books

New books in July & a library life hack

Books in July that are going to be BIG. Plus, how to get your hands on new books ASAP.

2n comments
spirit of kansas reading

Reading Inspired by Local Events: Happy Fourth of July!

Whether you are going to the Spirit of Kansas festival at Lake Shawnee or to one of the many other area celebrations of Independence Day, this holiday is a great time to pick up a book and learn more about the founding of our country

0 comments
Hunger Games Recommended

Fantasy/Sci Fi Read-alikes for Summer

YA fantasy/science fiction books that will take you to far away places this summer.

0 comments
uprootedff

Magic and legends in Uprooted

The woods that grow in the Valley are corrupted with evil and creatures that snatch people and drag them back into the woods. Anyone taken to the woods is usually lost forever. The people who live in the Valley are slowly losing the battle with the woods…

0 comments
christopher lee3

Christopher Lee, 1922-2015

Actor Christopher Lee has delighted movie fans during his 70+ year career. Revisit the life and career of this extraordinary actor.

0 comments
Bean There Read That July

Bean There, Read That: The Dead Fathers Club

Pick up a copy of The Dead Fathers Club by Matt Haig for the Tuesday July 28, 2015 7-8:30PM Bean There, Read That book discussion at The Classic Bean (21st and Fairlawn) for folks in their 20s and 30s! A ghost story with a twist-a suspenseful and poignantly funny update of Hamlet A triumph of originality and humor, this clever novel by […]

0 comments
Girl in the Dark

A Prisoner of her own Skin in Girl in the Dark

Once Anna Lindsey had a life in the light with a job, a new apartment, a boyfriend, and dreams of the future, when suddenly her life changed. She developed an extreme reaction to all light including sunlight, fluorescent lights, and even the light from computer screens. At times her only refuge…

0 comments
better

All I need is…the Cooking Neighborhood

Take it from a foodie, everyone should come by the Cooking Neighborhood.

0 comments

View more…