Women’s World Cup

My first memory of watching soccer on television was on my grandmother’s front porch in July 1999. The United States Women’s national team was playing China in the final of the World Cup. It remained scoreless through regulation and extra time. I vividly remember feeling very anxious during the penalty kicks. When Brandi Chastain stepped up and buried the last penalty to win the game and tore off her jersey all I felt was this unbridled joy and pride. I have been hooked on the game of soccer ever since.

It took 16 years but the American women did it again and won the World Cup in 2015 in Canada against Japan. That team was led by Carli Lloyd, who is the only woman to have ever scored a hat trick in a World Cup final. In fact she scored her three goals within the first 16 minutes of the game.

Now, four years later, the 2019 team is fairly young and inexperienced. However, with Alex Morgan and Carli Lloyd returning they are the odds on favorite to repeat as champions. The 2019 World Cup looks to be the most competitive yet.  There are a handful of teams with a legitimate shot of winning it all. These include the United States, Japan, Germany and the host country, France. Great Britain and Australia have an outside chance at making the top three if they can make it out of their respective groups, but they would be a long-shot. The first game kicks-off on Friday June 7, 2019, so put on your red, white and blue, or the colors of whatever country you root for and get ready for some great soccer games.

United States World Cup Schedule (Group Stage)

US vs Thailand 6/11   2pm

US vs. Chile 6/16       11am

US vs. Sweden 6/20   2pm

View complete list

megan johnson

Megan is a Public Service Specialist in the Library's Red Carpet Department. When not delivering books to the local community, she loves to read spy novels and any historical non-fiction she can get her hands on. She is also an avid fan of college basketball and soccer.