Friends of the Library gift scholarships

The Friends of the Library are devoted to helping library staff develop their skills in order to better serve the public. They give scholarships to staff members toward continuing education.

The Friends of the Library Scholarship Committee were very impressed by the passion and professionalism of the applicants for 2016 scholarships. The Friends awarded scholarships to three library staff members pursuing their Masters in Library Science degrees. Each will receive the maximum amount allowed per policy guidelines.

Studying at Wayne State University, Cindy Hohl, was awarded $1,000.

Miranda Ericsson, a student at Emporia State University, was awarded $1,500.

Natalie Moreland, a student at the University of Missouri –Columbia, was awarded $1,500.

Including these scholarships, over the past 23 years, the Friends of the Library have invested $92,000 in the staff at the Topeka and Shawnee County Public Library. At some point in their careers, one third of the current library management team received scholarships from the Friends.

Leah Sewell

Leah is the Communications Editor for the Topeka and Shawnee County Public Library, which basically means she’s an observer, collector and creator of library stories. She’s a veteran publisher and magazine editor who has brought her passion for all things literary and writerly to library communications. Leah has an MFA in writing from the University of Nebraska, is a published poet and author, a graphic designer, and has a very healthy obsession with books, podcasts, art and from-scratch cooking. She lives in Topeka with her two wily kids and a similarly unruly to-read pile.