Board of Trustees Elects Officers, Welcomes New Members

The Topeka and Shawnee County Public Library announces the addition of David Monical, Stacey Woolington and Quentin Martin to the library’s Board of Trustees.

Monical retired from an administrative position at Washburn University in 2010 and Martin is a commercial financial consultant. Woolington is Shawnee County’s Financial Administrator. She fills former Trustee Michele Henry’s term, representing Shawnee County.

The 2011-2012 officers were elected at the April meeting as follows:  Chairman Dan Guenther, Vice Chairman Duane Johnson, Treasurer Bob Harder and Secretary Melissa Masoner.

Completing the governing board are Terry Kimes, Elizabeth Ross, and Kerry Onstott Storey. The 10-member library board is comprised of seven representatives appointed by the mayor of Topeka, and three representatives are appointed by the Shawnee County Commission.Trustees are appointed to a four-year term, and are responsible for setting library policy and setting the annual budget.

The Topeka and Shawnee County Public Library is a 21st-century library, which also features an art gallery, café, gift shop, meeting rooms and free computer and Internet access.

More information on board of trustee meetings and meeting agendas can be found at Click on the About Us tab.

Library hours are Monday through Friday, 9 am to 9 pm, Sat. 9 am to 6 pm and

Sunday 12 pm to 9 pm.