Ranger’s Guide to History: Loss and Victory along the Washita

If history is what you’re interested in, attend Loss and Victory along the Washita. George A. Custer led the 7th U.S. Cavalry on a surprise dawn attack against the Southern Cheyenne village of Chief Black Kettle in 1868 in Oklahoma. Randy Standingwater, who is half Cheyenne and works at Brown v. Board, speaks and shows […]

November 2, 1:30-2:30 PM in the Topeka Room 204

Join award winning author Linda Rodriques for a talk about her new book.

“Fans of Nevada Barr and Sara Paretsky will relish Linda Rodriguez’s stellar debut. Her sleuth, Skeet Bannion, is a keeper. Every Last Secret is a triple crown winner; superb writing, hell for leather plotting and terrific characters.” – Julia Spencer-Fleming, New York Times bestselling author of One Was a Soldier

From the Library to Your Inbox: It’s Easy to Learn about the Library

Stay informed through the library’s newsletter, Library News Update. Get the lowdown on good books, movies or music. Read about how the library has helped its community members and receive notices of upcoming library events. And we want to hear from you! Leave a comment on this post on what you’d like to read about in the newsletter.

Veterans Program Series Begins Aug. 16

Thursday, Aug. 16 marks the beginning of a series commemorating our veterans, Kansans on the Front Lines, which continues Sept. 19 and culminates Nov. 12. Come to one or all three for a more well rounded picture of our military history. All speeches start at 7pm and are held in Marvin Auditorium in the Topeka […]

Register for the Women & Money Series

Women of all ages, income and education levels are invited to enroll in the Women & Money Series to be offered on Tuesday evenings from 6:00 to 8:30 PM, Sept. 11 through Oct. 30 at the Topeka and Shawnee County Public Library’s Marvin Auditorium. Registration is going on right now.