November 2, 1:30-2:30 PM in the Topeka Room 204

Join award winning author Linda Rodriguez for a talk about her new book.

“Fans of Nevada Barr and Sara Paretsky will relish Linda Rodriguez’s stellar debut. Her sleuth, Skeet Bannion, is a keeper. Every Last Secret is a triple crown winner; superb writing, hell for leather plotting and terrific characters.” – Julia Spencer-Fleming, New York Times bestselling author of One Was a Soldier

 “Rodriguez writes clearly and forcefully. … Fans of tough female detectives like V.I. Warshawski and Kinsey Millhone will be pleased.” – Publishers Weekly

  “Every Last Secret offers that rare and startling thing in the universe of thrillers: a truly fresh voice. Rodriguez’s tale spares nothing. Skeet is an all-too-human heroine, and we just want more, more, more.”–Jacquelyn Mitchard, #1 national bestselling author of The Deep End of the Ocean and Second Nature: A Love Story

 “Linda Rodriguez has created a captivating female detective with a mind for justice and a heart for those who’ve been unfairly treated.  Skeet navigates university politics and a nest of deadly secrets to find the truth, even when it means investigating people she cares about.”–Carolyn Haines, author of Bones of a Feather

 “There’s a new cop in town and she has smarts, courage, and a good heart. Mystery readers will find a new favorite in Chief Skeet Bannion.”  –Nancy Pickard, author of The Scent of Rain and Lightning

 “Murder on a college campus, plenty of bad people, and all kinds of puzzles to solve.  Linda Rodriguez has written a highly enjoyable procedural introducing a rough and tender heroine, Skeet Bannion.”–Kathleen George, author of The Odds and Hideout

 ”Rodriguez’s debut is an action-packed ride featuring an intriguing heroine you won’t quickly forget.”—Sally Goldenbaum, bestselling author of The Wedding Shawl

 Selected Reviews for Every Last Secret

“Linda Rodriguez delivers a lively look at a woman rebuilding her life in ‘Every Last Secret.’…Rodriguez’s energetic storytelling and attention to character prove she is an author who should have a bright future. Skeet is in touch with her Cherokee heritage. Her determination to make a fresh start will resonate with anyone who has started a new job or moved to a new town.”—Oline H. Cogdill, South Florida Sun-Sentinel

“Rodriguez writes clearly and forcefully….Fans of tough female detectives like V.I. Warshawski and Kinsey Millhone will be pleased.”–Publishers Weekly

“Skeet’s debut introduces a strong, intelligent woman detective with both a knack for solving crimes and a difficult personal life. The next episode can’t come too soon.”–Kirkus Reviews

“With a strong heroine struggling to find balance in her work and personal life, this intriguing debut shows great promise….Good read-alikes might be Lori Armstrong and Sara Paretsky for formidable heroines with baggage.”–Library Journal

Every Last Secret would appear to follow any one of several tried and true conventions—a village mystery, a police procedural, a cozy replete with Skeet’s knitting and pets, or an ethnic mystery playing off its determined heroine’s half-Cherokee ancestry—but with solid writing and honest insights into human complexity, Rodriguez manages to employ all these familiar tropes with considerable élan.”–Mystery Scene Magazine

http://www.indiebound.org/book/9781250005458

 http://www.powells.com/biblio/62-9781250005458-0

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/every-last-secret-linda-rodriguez/1106502012?ean=9781250005458&itm=5&usri=linda%2brodriguez

Linda Rodriguez Bio

Linda Rodriguez’s Every Last Secret (St. Martin’s Press/Minotaur Books) won the Malice Domestic Best First Traditional Mystery Novel Competition, was selected by Las Comadres National Book Club, and was a Barnes & Noble mystery pick. Her second novel, Every Broken Trust, will be published May 7, 2013. For her books of poetry, Skin Hunger (Scapegoat Press) and Heart’s Migration (Tia Chucha Press, finalist for the Eric Hoffer Book Award), Rodriguez received numerous awards, including Midwest Voices & Visions Award, Elvira Cordero Cisneros Award, KCArtsFund Inspiration Award, Thorpe Menn Award for Literary Excellence, and Ragdale and Macondo fellowships. Her poems have been broadcast on The Writers Almanac with Garrison Keillor (NPR), Arts Round-Up KCUR-FM in Kansas City, KC Connections KCUR-FM, Talking Earth KBOO-FM in Portland, and New Letters on the Air (NPR). She was a founder/co-coordinator of the Kansas City Women Writers Reading Series and founding board member of both Latino Writers Collective and The Writers Place, is president-elect of Border Crimes chapter of Sisters in Crime, and is a member of Wordcraft Circle of Native American Writers and Storytellers, Kansas City Cherokee Community, and International Thriller Writers. She was formerly director of the University of Missouri-Kansas City Women’s Center and was a co-convener of the Women & Environment Caucus at the United Nations international conference, Women 2000: Beijing Plus Five. She has also published a cookbook, The “I Don’t Know How to Cook” Book: Mexican (Adams Media, 2008). She is currently working on a book of poetry based on teachings from her Cherokee grandmother and a novel about Kansas City’s long-established Latino community.