Books like Fatal Error by F. Paul Wilson

With the release of Wilson’s penultimate Repairman Jack novel, the series is coming to an end. However, there are many novels and series that can occupy your time once Repairman Jack has performed his last “fix.” Check out these titles and authors to help you fill the void.

The Cabinet of Curiosities by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child

Special Agent Pendergast needs the talents of Nora Kelly, an archaeologist, and William Smithback, Jr., a researcher and reporter, to track down a serial killer whom he is sure has been stalking his prey since the late-19th century.  Along the way, they nearly lose their lives as they relentlessly track the killer who, indeed, is still alive at the beginning of the 21st century. Pendergast has been called one of the few examples of a truly “modern-day” Holmes by Publishers Weekly.  The authors weave facts from New York City history with a thriller plot to produce an adventure filled with fast-moving events and enough scary moments to keep the pages turning quickly.

Storm Front by Jim Butcher

From back of book:

Harry Dresden is the best at what he does. Well, technically, he’s the only at what he does. So when the Chicago P.D. has a case that transcends mortal creativity or capability, they come to him for answers. For the “everyday” world is actually full of strange and magical things–and most of them don’t play too well with humans. That’s where Harry comes in. Takes a wizard to catch a–well, whatever.

Magic. It can get a guy killed.

False Impression by Jeffrey Archer

From the product description:

In the aftermath of an aristocrat’s murder on September 10, 2001, for her priceless Van Gogh painting, Anna, a World Trade Center survivor, takes advantage of her “presumed dead” status and travels throughout the world to avenge the woman’s death.

Under the Overtree and Writ in Blood:  Serenity Falls 1 by James A. Moore

Under the Overtree is the first book by Moore to introduce the delightful anti-hero Jonathan Crowley, a not quite human hunter of demons and all things dark.  In the novel, Crowley ventures into a small town to help out Mark Howell, an awkward, overweight, and bullied teenager, who awakening “the Folk,” a clan of supernatural beings who come to embrace Mark as ‘the One.’ They become his guardian angels, protecting him from harm, literally remaking him, increasing his physical and mental prowess and turning him into one of the most popular kids in school. But the Folk’s intentions are not entirely charitable and Mark will need all the help he can get to free himself of a Faustian deal.

Writ in Blood:  Originally intended as one large novel, the Serenity Falls series is one of the best new works in horror. The first in the trilogy, Writ in Blood, chronicles the decent of the town of Serenity Falls into a wellspring of supernatural events that gradually and inexorably become crueler, darker, and more interesting.  It seems that the town’s founding father’s committed an awful act that set into motion a series of events that will haunt everyone who resides in town. To the rescue comes the anti-hero, Jonathan Crowley, who may just have met his match.

(Currently the Library does not have the Serenity series, but it is definitely worth getting through Interlibrary Loan.)

The Traveling Vampire Show  by Richard layman

16-year-old Dwight and his two pals, male Rusty and female Slim, decide to add some excitement to an otherwise boring summer day in 1963 by sneaking into “The Traveling Vampire Show.” This adults-only act, featuring “Valeria, the only known vampire in captivity,” is visiting their rural town of Grandville for just one night. Dwight narrates the events of that day, all the way through to the terrifying finale. The three friends are for the most part typical teens, but they are tested that day in ways none of them could ever have imagined.

(Currently the Library does not have this book, but it is definitely worth getting through Interlibrary Loan.)

The Devil You Know by Mike Carey

British author Carey creates an interesting character and world with his blend of hardboiled detective and supernatural noir in Felix Castor.

Description from Barnes & Noble’s website:

A violent ghost in a world where spirits are rarely mean-spirited is a clue to a deeper mystery in this engrossing dark fantasy debut. Felix Fix Castor is an itinerant exorcist who alternates between dispatching spooks and doing stage magic at ungrateful children’s birthday parties. When he’s summoned to end a haunting at London’s prestigious Bonnington Archive, he finds a vengeful specter with a blood-veiled face that resists methods for extirpating the usually docile dead.

Jeff Tate is the Digital Branch Librarian. He can help with your ebook and digital audiobook questions and ereader, smart phones, iPads, or other gadget issues, In addition, he can assist with general research questions, library database assistance, and almost anything else you find on our Digital Branch. He also trains, markets, and develops content for the Library's website, ebooks, databases, social media, and other online services. Besides his MLS, he has degrees in American History and American Studies.