2011 Newbery Medal Winner Clare Vanderpool

Wichita author Clare Vanderpool won the 2011 John Newbery Medal for children’s literature for her first book, Moon Over Manifest.

The Newbery is awarded annually by the American Library Association to the author who has made the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Vanderpool will share stories about the joy of writing and the inspiration behind her book Sept. 20 at 10am, 1pm and 3pm in Marvin Auditorium. Standing room only at 10 and 1, but space is still available for the 3pm talk. Area schools will be attending the first two sessions, and the third is for the public. After her talk, she will sign copies of her book, also available for purchase at the event. For more info or to secure your spot, call 785-580-4565.

Set in the fictional small town of Manifest, Vanderpool’s novel draws from her own experiences as a young girl visiting her grandparents in the real town of Frontenac, Kan.

She uses both humor and sorrow to tell this tale involving murders, orphans and bootlegging. Vanderpool researched the small town’s newspapers, yearbooks and graveyards to add a rich and colorful flavor for her story.

The novel is recommended for “tween” readers, ages 9 to 12, and is available for checkout in hardcover, electronic download and audiobook. Search our catalog.

Moon Over Manifest’s main character, Abilene Tucker, uses her summer vacation to snoop around her father’s old stomping grounds digging up secrets.

The book is set in the Depression and introduces young readers to that chapter in American history in a way they’ll appreciate and understand.

If you are looking for read-a-likes to Moon Over Manifest, look no farther than the Kids’ Library desk. Ask a librarian to create a book list for you.

A public relations professional, editor and writer, Lisa shares the library story in her blog posts, in the bimonthly Library News, and media interviews. A self-described social media and news nut, Lisa harnesses that passion to raise awareness and understanding of the library's vital role in this community.

  • http://webdesignerseo.wordpress.com Daniel Chege

    It was great to meet you Clare Vanderpool, and I learned a lot from our conversation. Your presentation was very interesting especially the ” Kansas Bootleggers ” cities that are still thriving even today. Congratulations to you in your success and accolades. When I finish my book you will be the first one to know.

    Best regards,

    Mr. Daniel Chege