Books, Movies & Music

Find out what’s popular, read staff reviews, or find hidden gems in the world of books, movies and music.

Staff Picks: Escape the Ordinary This Summer

Open “Around the Southern table : coming home to comfort…” in catalog Around the Southern table : coming home to comfort… Open “The berry bible : with 175 recipes using cultivate…” in catalog The berry bible : with 175 recipes using cultivate… Open “The big book of barbecue side dishes : over 125 re…” in catalog The big book of barbecue side dishes : over 125 re… Open “Cookies & cream : hundreds of ways to make the per…” in catalog Cookies & cream : hundreds of ways to make the per… Open “Desserts in jars : 50 sweet treats that shine” in catalog Desserts in jars : 50 sweet treats that shine Open “Entice with spice : easy Indian recipes for busy p…” in catalog Entice with spice : easy Indian recipes for busy p…
View more…

Recent Posts

Subscribe

Hunger Games Recommended

Fantasy/Sci Fi Read-alikes for Summer

YA fantasy/science fiction books that will take you to far away places this summer.

0 comments
uprootedff

Magic and legends in Uprooted

The woods that grow in the Valley are corrupted with evil and creatures that snatch people and drag them back into the woods. Anyone taken to the woods is usually lost forever. The people who live in the Valley are slowly losing the battle with the woods…

0 comments
christopher lee3

Christopher Lee, 1922-2015

Actor Christopher Lee has delighted movie fans during his 70+ year career. Revisit the life and career of this extraordinary actor.

0 comments
Bean There Read That July

Bean There, Read That: The Dead Fathers Club

Pick up a copy of The Dead Fathers Club by Matt Haig for the Tuesday July 28, 2015 7-8:30PM Bean There, Read That book discussion at The Classic Bean (21st and Fairlawn) for folks in their 20s and 30s! A ghost story with a twist-a suspenseful and poignantly funny update of Hamlet A triumph of originality and humor, this clever novel by […]

0 comments
Girl in the Dark

A Prisoner of her own Skin in Girl in the Dark

Once Anna Lindsey had a life in the light with a job, a new apartment, a boyfriend, and dreams of the future, when suddenly her life changed. She developed an extreme reaction to all light including sunlight, fluorescent lights, and even the light from computer screens. At times her only refuge…

0 comments
better

All I need is…the Cooking Neighborhood

Take it from a foodie, everyone should come by the Cooking Neighborhood.

0 comments
Movie Mind Blog Header Olyphant

A happy surprise

Short stories make great TV series and Timothy Olyphant makes everything great.

0 comments
Classics-Made-Modern_600pxX280px-1024x478

Swiss Family Robinson

Join us on July 13, from 1:30-3, in a discussion of this classic family adventure novel.

0 comments
HUSH Podcast

HUSH Library Podcast #76 – On the Ebola Frontlines

In this episode, Joey Scaletta shares his frontline experiences volunteering in a West African Ebola Treatment Unit. Hear more stories and see photos from his journey on Monday June 22, 7-8:30 p.m.

0 comments
Dead Lands

The future is bleak in The Dead Lands

The world’s population has been decimated by an epidemic and a nuclear fallout, and even with the passing years survival has not gotten easier. Where St. Louis once stood is a walled city called the Sanctuary, but it is not a paradise.

0 comments
Beatles Band of the 60s header

The Beatles: Band of the 60s

Join us on a Magical Mystery Tour though a history of the Beatles on Sunday June 28, 7-8:30 p.m.

0 comments
History of Lesbian Lit

An Interview with Sandra Moran

Meet novelist Sandra Moran when she speaks on the History of Lesbian Literature June 18, 7-8:30 p.m.

0 comments

View more…