kids books

Meet local authors that write for kids

Shop local, get your gift personalize and wrapped for free. Read more too see some of the kids authors you can meet and purchase books from on December 8 – 3-5:00 pm. Many of these local authors also have more than one title available.

firemen831

Do you have a Fire Escape plan for Home?

This morning Greg Bailey Topeka Fire Chief visited the library. He read stories to the kids and he asked us all some questions. To the parents, have you ever been in a fire drill at work?… lots of hands went up. To the kids, have you ever been in a fire drill at school?…Lots of […]

JoyInt

Joy, Interrupted an anthology on motherhood and loss

Joy can be interrupted – but not lost. Most people think of motherhood as a joyous experience, but for some it can be an experience of interrupted joy. This anthology delves into the subject of motherhood and loss from different perspectives of authors and artists from all over the world. Sunday, June 9, 2:30-3:30 – Marvin Auditorium 101AB, Margaret Kramar local author one of the contributing authors will be here with the editor Melissa MIles McCarter to read from this anthology.

cellocollective

The Topeka Cello Collective

This community of student cello players under the direction of Erinn Renyer play cello ensemble music. Come see this group March 21, 1:00-2:00 pm at the Library in The Edge (teen activity room East Wing). The Cello Collective learns about performance technique, musicality and enjoys opportunities to perform at community concerts and events. Cello Collective […]

songsofseason2012

Music in the Rotunda Returns

Get in the spirit of the season when you attend Songs of the Season, a daily holiday music series, in the library’s rotunda. From school choirs to veteran music masters, these performances are sure to delight. Most concerts are scheduled between 11am and 2pm.

One womans junk

Junk Drawer Jewelry

You’ve heard the expression one man’s trash is another man’s treasure. My new version of that saying is one woman’s junk is another woman’s fashion accessory. I do not collect rare buttons and I do not make fine art jewelry. But I do like to make fun funky artsy jewelry from things I find in my “junk” box.

LindaR

November 2, 1:30-2:30 PM in the Topeka Room 204

Join award winning author Linda Rodriques for a talk about her new book.

“Fans of Nevada Barr and Sara Paretsky will relish Linda Rodriguez’s stellar debut. Her sleuth, Skeet Bannion, is a keeper. Every Last Secret is a triple crown winner; superb writing, hell for leather plotting and terrific characters.” – Julia Spencer-Fleming, New York Times bestselling author of One Was a Soldier

WUlaw

History of Washburn Law Book Talk

Book Talk with Professor Concannon
When: Sunday, October 7, 2012
Where: Topeka and Shawnee County Public Library
Marvin Auditorium 101C
Time: 2:00-3:30 p.m.

Deathvalley

The Rangers Guide to History

Thursday, August 2, 7:00 pm, Marvin Auditorium 101C Despite the name, Death Valley is a beautiful place full of life waiting to be explored. Join Ranger Justin Sochacki, Brown v. Board of Education National Historic Site to learn about the hottest, lowest, driest place in the United States and those who have explored it, including […]

Rangers Guide to History series

Rangers Guide to History

Look for these upcoming programs presented by the park rangers from Brown V. Board of Education National Historic Site Elisha Scott, Colored Lawyer of Topeka This program revolves around Scott’s life as one of the state’s most noted attorneys and some of his most important cases where he fought to win fair treatment for all […]